Managing versions using console

Each blueprint in a catalog must have a unique name (template_name). Dell Cloud Manager allows you to maintain multiple versions of a blueprint (template_version). However only one version of a blueprint can exist in a catalog (be active) and be used to launch stacks from.

You can manage all versions of a blueprint from the Dell Cloud Manager console Manage Catalog page.

List the Active Blueprints

To list the active blueprints from the Dell Cloud Manager console Manage Catalog page, click on the Catalog menu, select the desired catalog and then click on the Manage Catalog tab.

The active blueprints appear on the left side of the page.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions1.png

List all Blueprint versions

To list all versions of a blueprint click on the blueprint on the left side of the page.

All versions of that blueprint are then displayed on the right side of the page.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions2.png

Create a new Blueprint (version)

To create a new version of a blueprint click on the Add Version button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions3.png
You can upload a custom image icon for the blueprint by clicking on the Upload Image button. By default the base_types.yaml file is included.
Then click on the Upload Files button to locate and select the template yaml file(s) for the blueprint.
../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions4.png

Locate and select the template yaml file(s) and then click on the Open button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions5.png
If you wish to make this new blueprint version the active blueprint version then click on the Make Active checkbox.
Then click on the Create Version button.
../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions6.png

The new blueprint version 1.10 is now displayed on the right side of the page and is the active blueprint version.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions7.png

Activate or Deactivate a Blueprint

To activate a blueprint version click on the blueprint version you wish to activate, then click on the Activate button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions10.png

You are prompted to confirm that you wish to activate a blueprint version. Click on the Yes button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions11.png

Blueprint version 2.00 is now the active version. The prior active blueprint version 1.10 has been made inactive.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions12.png

To deactivate a blueprint version click on the blueprint version you wish to deactivate, then click on the Deactivate button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions13.png

You are prompted to confirm that you wish to deactivate a blueprint version. Click on the Yes button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions14.png

Blueprint version 2.00 is now inactive. There are no active versions so this blueprint will not be viewable or launch-able from the catalog.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions15.png

View a Blueprint

To view the contents of a blueprint click on the blueprint version you wish to view, select the template yaml file and then click on the view button view_blueprint_button

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions20.png

The blueprint template yaml file contents is displayed. You can download the file from this dialog by clicking on the Download button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions21.png

Launch a Blueprint

You can launch a blueprint (active or inactive version) from the Manage Catalog page. Click on the blueprint version you wish to launch and then click on the Launch button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions40.png

Download a Blueprint

To download the contents of a blueprint click on the blueprint version you wish to download, select the template yaml file and then click on the download button download_blueprint_button

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions25.png

Delete a Blueprint

To delete a blueprint (all versions) from Dell Cloud Manager, click on the blueprint in the left side of the page, then click on the Remove button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions30.png

You are prompted to confirm that you wish to delete a blueprint. Click on the Yes button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions31.png

The blueprint (all versions) are deleted from Dell Cloud Manager.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions32.png

Delete a Blueprint version

To delete a specific blueprint version from Dell Cloud Manager, select the blueprint version on the right side of the page, then click on the Remove button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions35.png

You are prompted to confirm that you wish to delete a blueprint version. Click on the Yes button.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions36.png

The blueprint version 1.00 is deleted.

../../_images/manage_blueprint_versions37.png